Anita's Fantabulous Beauty Blog

C.O. Bigelow Vitamin Mentha Tinted Lip Balm in Baby Pink, Poppy Pink, Golden Mint Review

Posted in Lip, Lip Care, Lipcolor, Rating: B, Review by Anita on July 3, 2010

Baby Pink, Golden, Poppy Pink

$7.50 – I’ve never really been extensively impressed by Bath & Body Works lip products. They seem to kind of suck. I do like their “My Favorite Lip Balm” gloss, though…alright, back to the subject of discussion here. These guys. Sigh. I think I’ll go through the colors, then talk about the formula.

Poppy Pink, Golden, Baby Pink
(Poppy Pink, Golden, Baby Pink)

Baby Pink

Baby Pink – on me, this is a very similar color to my plain lips, just a hint darker with shimmer. It’s a really pretty color. As you can tell from how beat up it is, I got this a long time ago.

Golden

Golden – a really pretty ivory shimmer. Might be my favorite of the bunch, for packaging issues (will explain!) aren’t present and it doesn’t slip and slide like the others tend to do. This shade and the following shade I got on sale for 75 freaking cents. But it was originally $7.50, so I’m going off of that for value.

Poppy Pink

Poppy Pink – oooooh man. It makes me so sad….this is such a pretty sheer barbie-pink, why does it have to have such bad packaging? 😦 I might have to melt it down, which stinks, because the packaging is so CUTE!

What am I going on about, you ask? Well, let us first take a gander at the Golden bullet…

Golden

…And now the Poppy Pink bullet:

!@##$%!!

As I’m applying it, it leans around against the tube. It’s way too soft, way softer than Golden and the other ones. I also think this one stains. A lot. I was applying lip balm from a friend at the store a while ago (Victoria’s Secret Double Balmstick) which is pink but supposed to be transparent…it does have some color to it though, which paired with the awkward application is why I stopped using it…but I never remembered the color being THIS intense, and when I looked in the bathroom it was pretty apparent. I rubbed at my lips but only the bit of color from the balm rubbed off.

And on to the formula…the following illustrations were generously provided by my artistic wench, Cait at Watashi no Keki. You may now safely view these images without suffering from retinal bleeding.

It must have a looot of mentha in it. You put this stuff on and it feels like you’re jamming your lips into a freezer.

Brrrrr

To some, like me, what I just described could be considered lip balm heaven. I like intense cooling effects. But, this burns a little bit too, so you might want to watch out if you’re sensitive to this kind of thing.

Another problem…if you look at your lips they look to be in perfect condition, right?

*ding*

Haha…yeah…sure. You put this stuff on, and allllll those little flake things come out of hiding.

*ding*

So you better exfoliate until it HURTS. Some people use wet towels. Some people use lip scrubs. Some people use tooth brushes. I use all three because none of them alone can conquer my hidden lip deformities.

The value? 7.50 is steep for the standard quality of these lip tints. Luckily I got Poppy Pink and Golden on sale for 75c as previously stated so I’m happy with my purchase.

Rating: B

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oriolesmagic521 said, on July 7, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    $7.50 for ONE of those thingies?! sheesh. that was a serious deal you got 😛
    Isn’t it annoying that the thing moves around in the tube? That would irritate me so much that i would say, “Screw this!” and just go without the lip crap.
    Now, wait a minute. Flakes on your lips come out of hiding? How do you know that it doesn’t do that to your lips? 😛

    • Anita said, on July 7, 2010 at 10:17 pm

      Lol, because it’s just a thing. When you have no lipstick on, dead skin cells tend to not be so noticeable, but when you put lipstick on, some lipsticks accentuate them and make them look worse. In which case one would exfoliate with a toothbrush or something to get rid of them.

  2. oriolesmagic521 said, on July 7, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    But if you used a toothbrush to “exfoliate,” wouldn’t that take off the lip stuff?

  3. helpful resources said, on July 23, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Furniture stores and building supply dealers
    garnered a lot of the lower salaries. Just ensure that you buy those which aren’t very expensive but have the identical appeal like those costlier ones.

  4. Methadone Doctors said, on February 25, 2013 at 2:10 am

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you ever
    run into any browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog readers have complained about my website
    not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in
    Firefox. Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?


Leave a Reply

