Anita's Fantabulous Beauty Blog

Claire’s Tokyo Girls Strawberry Lip Balm Review

Posted in Lip, Lip Care, Rating: C by Anita on July 26, 2010

My friend Caitlin bought this for me under the condition that I review it. Basically she is asking me to tell her the value of her present. To look a gift horse in the mouth. Alright…I’ll bite.

The packaging is nice. The inner tube is sleek matte black, and the pink lip balm looks nice against it. The lid is just cheap looking in comparison, though.

The formula?

Ooooooh the formula.

It glides on like you stole it from it’s mother and you’re about to rape it. The point of lip balm is to cover the lips to protect it from the sun/windburn, and it does just that, but ANY LIP BALM will do that. There is way too much resistance in the feel of this balm. On a side note, the (strawberry!) flavor is nice.

If you don’t mind lip balms that have no slip or that don’t glide on very easily, you might like this.

YOU TOLD ME TO DO IT, CAITLIN!

Rating: C

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oriolesmagic521 said, on July 30, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    I hate hate hate hate hate it when a lip balm can’t be put on smoothly. The only lip balm I own is CO Bigelow Lemon Lip Balm and the Blistex medicated lip balm >.<
    CO Bigelow Lemon Lip Balm goes on smoothly, but it's so greasy that it's kinda weird. The Blistex isn't that bad, but I think the other one is better quality.
    (feel free to correct this newbie)

    • Anita said, on July 31, 2010 at 12:03 am

      I hate greasy, but it depends on what you mean by that. My definition of greasy isn’t just a lot of slip, but when it gets nasty and in the corners of your mouth and such. I have the lemon cream lip balm which is the same but the one in the lipgloss tube. My ideal consistency is not too heavy, but NOT too light, just in the middle, very creamy and very slipper, but not greasy to a point where it gets in the corners of your mouth. Some use petroleum jelly and although that has a very nice consistency it gets in the corners of my mouth and I constantly feel like I have to wipe it out.

      And NEVER JUDGE BALMS BY PRICE! A balm can suck AND be $7.50, lol. Did you know that my favorite lip balm ever is only $1? And my second favorite is around $3.50.

  2. oriolesmagic521 said, on August 4, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Yeah, the CO Bigelow Lemon Lip Balm is greasy like that. I hate that because every time I use it I have to wipe the sides of my mouth.

  3. Amy said, on August 20, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Nice flavor? What does it taste like?

    And that balm is adorable. I think I need it, lol.

    • Anita said, on August 28, 2010 at 2:43 pm

      Strawberry. Haha, I should have mentioned that. *updates post*

  4. Watashi no Keki said, on August 23, 2010 at 1:39 am

    yay!

  5. Bridget said, on December 11, 2010 at 3:15 am

    That’s really cool:)


Leave a Reply

